About Guyana

Guyana is the only English speaking country in South America.

Historically known as "Guiana" a Taino Indian word which means "Land of Flowing Rivers".

Discovered by Europeans in 1498, Guyana has been struggled over for 500 years by the Spanish, French, Dutch, and British.

Guyana achieved independence from the United Kingdom in 1966 and has a multi-party stable government system, with President Bharrat Jagdeo being the head of the state.